5th February 2019

Joel Simons acquires joint memoir from comedy duo Mortimer and Whitehouse

Back to news

Blink Senior Editor Joel Simons has acquired UK & Commonwealth rights in a heated auction from Gordon Wise at Curtis Brown, on behalf of producer Owl Power and Greenbird TV, for Gone Fishing from comedians and long-time friends Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse.

The book, to be published in May 2019, will see Mortimer and Whitehouse expand on their mutual love of their most cherished pastime, in the perfect accompaniment for fans of the hit BBC Two TV show. The deal was brokered in association with agents Caroline Chignell for Mortimer and Alexandra Cann and Jacquie Drewe for Paul Whitehouse.

 

A beguiling mix of gentle humour and hilarious conversation on life and death, they’ll talk fish, equipment and locations, as well as health scares, love, friendship and growing old. Gone Fishing will also appeal to fans of Bob and Paul’s comedy and anyone who wants to read a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and fishing. Blink will also be publishing a unique audio book to coincide with the release of the print edition, offering listeners a wonderful opportunity to enjoy these two much-loved comedians in their own words.

Bob and Paul have been at the heart of British comedy for over 30 years and will pick up their rods and head back to the banks with a second TV series in 2019, bringing with them their inimitable wit, charm and ruminations on life.

“My adventures on the riverbank with Paul have been some of the happiest times of my life,” says Bob Mortimer. “I hope we have captured in this book the sheer joy that unfolds when two old duffers are allowed to fanny about on the bankside.”

Paul Whitehouse added: “Bob has dragged himself off his sofa and the endless box sets to join me on the riverbank. We might catch some fish but we will definitely dive into the murky waters of life, heart health and self-pity.   Hey! Come with us…”

This brilliant book from two of the country’s most cherished comedians will be a wonderfully light-hearted guide to the unique ways of the riverbank and the perfect complement to the splendid Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing TV series

Joel Simons, Senior Editor

Joel Simons says: “The fish-meal pellets, the stink of the kit, the wander to the bank from the car, finding your ‘spot’… this brilliant book from two of the country’s most cherished comedians will be a wonderfully light-hearted guide to the unique ways of the riverbank and the perfect complement to the splendid Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing TV series. Bob and Paul are your guides, your mates and your mentors, as they take to the rivers, have a daft laff, and ponder some of life’s most important questions: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? And what are your favourite pocket meats?  In short I’m over the moon to be publishing these absolute comedy greats.”