28th September 2018

Hot Key Books acquires Perfectly Preventable Deaths by Irish Book Award winner Deirdre Sullivan

Back to news

Hot Key Books, part of Bonnier Zaffre, has acquired a thrilling YA novel entitled Perfectly Preventable Deaths from critically acclaimed author Deirdre Sullivan.

Georgia Murray, Commissioning Editor at Bonnier Zaffre, acquired world rights including ebook and audio from Clare Wallace at the Darley Anderson Children’s Book Agency.

 

Perfectly Preventable Deaths is a lyrical coming-of-age thriller with an intoxicating blend of contemporary and fantasy, for fans of Moira Fowley-Doyle and Frances Hardinge.

 

Perfectly Preventable Deaths is a book I’ve been inhabiting for a long time, and I’m excited to share it with readers.

– Deirdre Sullivan

 

Murray said: “Perfectly Preventable Deaths is an extraordinary novel from an extraordinary writer. This new novel takes Deirdre into different and more ambitious territory than her previous books and I couldn’t be more delighted to be working with her on this very special story.”

Sullivan said: “Perfectly Preventable Deaths is a book I’ve been inhabiting for a long time, and I’m excited to share it with readers.”

Deirdre Sullivan is from Galway. Her previous books include Prim Improper, Improper Order and Primperfect, which was the first YA novel ever to be shortlisted for the European Prize for Literature. Her 2016 novel Needlework was awarded a White Raven and a CBI Honour Award for fiction. Deirdre’s most recent book, Tangleweed and Brine, a collection of dark fairy-tale retellings, won an Irish Book Award for Best Young Adult Book of the Year 2017 as well as the CBI Book of the Year award.

Perfectly Preventable Deaths is due to publish in the UK and Ireland on 13 June 2019.