22nd March 2021

Embla Books scoops “sparkling, laugh-out-loud” debut in first deal

Back to news

Embla Books scoops “sparkling, laugh-out-loud” debut in first deal

 

Jane Snelgrove, Publishing Director at Embla Books – the new digital-first imprint from Bonnier Books UK – has swiftly acquired a stylish rom-com by debut author Laura Starkey. Snelgrove snapped up World English Language rights in a two-book deal with Kate Hordern at the Kate Hordern Literary Agency.

Rachel Ryan’s Resolutions, by Laura Starkey, is being described as an “unputdownable”, “laugh-out-loud” read, with shades of Bridget Jones and the classic hallmarks of an upmarket rom-com. For fans of Beth O’Leary and Lucy Diamond, the debut explores “the pursuit and perception of love, with a lead character that many readers will immediately take to their hearts”, according to the publisher.

Laura Starkey

Starkey said, “I’m absolutely thrilled to have found a home for Rachel Ryan at Embla, and with an editor as experienced and enthusiastic as Jane. The characters in this book have lived in my mind (and copious untidy notes!) for years, so having the opportunity to work with the Embla team on bringing them into the real world is a dream come true. It’s also a real honour to be the first author signed to this exciting new list.”

Hordern said, “I’m delighted that Rachel Ryan’s Resolutions will be published on the Embla list. Jane’s captivating enthusiasm has been like a whirlwind romance in itself, and it is wonderful to have found the perfect home for this very special debut”.

Snelgrove said, “Within a few pages I knew I had to publish Laura’s sparkling debut, and I am so excited to welcome her as the first author on the Embla list. I laughed, and at some points cried, my way through this book – and I know readers are going to fall in love with Rachel Ryan as I did. I can’t wait to introduce her to the world in this fabulously feelgood, modern and relatable read.”