17th October 2019

Jenson Button to celebrate new book at Silverstone

Back to news

Jenson Button to celebrate new book at Silverstone

Jenson Button will celebrate the publication of How to be an F1 Driver with a live event at Silverstone Motor Circuit this Saturday (19 October).

The event, which will be hosted by Sky Sports presenter Natalie Pinkham and supported by WHSmith events, is expected to attract more than 800 fans to the home of British motor racing.

The event challenges the traditional format of a book launch and aims to take readers behind the wheel by immersing them in the unique venue. Fans will be able to test their skills in F1 driving simulators and watch a live Q&A with Button introduced by John Grant, Chairman of the British Racing Driver’s Club. The event will also be covered by Sky Sports Media.

“Jenson’s new book is funny, fresh and fascinating. He takes you inside what it’s really like to be an F1 driver – not just the bits you see on screen, but all the rest that you’ve always wanted to know about …”

Matthew Phillips, publisher, Bonnier Books UK

The launch is part of a high-impact Q4 campaign to celebrate the release of Button’s second book with Blink. In How to be an F1 Driver, Jenson takes readers behind the wheel and behind the scenes of his career.

Jenson’s first book with Blink, Life to the Limit, was the best-selling sports book of 2017, with 133k copies sold through TCM. The book was also shortlisted for the 2017 Sports Book Awards.

Matthew Phillips, publisher for Blink, Bonnier Books UK, said: “Jenson’s new book is funny, fresh and fascinating. He takes you inside what it’s really like to be an F1 driver – not just the bits you see on screen, but all the rest that you’ve always wanted to know about – the parties, the lifestyle, the fashion faux pas – it’s all there. And what better place to get even closer to life in the fast lane than at Silverstone, where Jenson’s event will kickstart an incredible campaign for a superb book.”

Lisa Hoare, communications director for adult non-fiction, Bonnier Books UK, said: “We wanted to create a great experience for fans of Jenson and Formula 1 — what better place to hold his launch event than at the home of British motor racing!

“With the combination of the famous Silverstone Motor Circuit, an introduction from John Grant (the Chairman of the British Racing Drivers Club), Sky Sports Natalie Pinkham as host, exclusive content being filmed for Sky Sports, F1 simulators – and of course – Jenson Button himself, we’re taking this event to the next level.”

Button currently competes in the Japanese Super GT Series, driving for Team Kunimitsu, having won the title in 2018. He has raced in Formula 1 for the last 18 years, winning 16 grand prix. Beloved by fans both on and off the track, Jenson is currently the face of Sky Sports’ 2019 F1 coverage.

How to be an F1 Driver by Jenson Button publishes in hardback on 17 October 2019. Tickets for the event at Silverstone Motor Circuit can be purchased here (https://www.universe.com/events/an-afternoon-with-jenson-button-hosted-by-natalie-pinkham-tickets-MPTR7D) and include a copy of the book and access to F1 driving simulators.

About Jenson Button

Jenson Button is one of the greatest racing drivers of his generation. He currently competes in the Japanese Super GT Series driving for Team Kunimitsu, in which he won the title in 2018. He has raced in Formula 1 for the last 17 years, winning 15 grands prix. In 2009 he won the World Championship for the unsponsored Brawn Racing team in one of the most incredible, against-the-odds sports stories of the century. Outside of racing, he set up the Jenson Button Trust for his fundraising activities which includes the Jenson Button Triathlon which has raised money for Help for Heroes, Cancer Research and now Barnardo’s. A Honda ambassador, he is also co-owner of Rocket Motorsport and co-founder of Leger cycling apparel. He is currently the face of Sky Sports’ 2019 F1 coverage.